Blog posts

Where to next?

There’s that nervous feeling when you start something new, which prompts a giggle and a hesitant smile.

It’s that innate excitement tinged with that feeling of uncertainty.

Its hope

Why is hope such an audacious thought?

Why are we so reluctant to embrace it?

And if we do why do we think the world will fall apart as we do?

I consider myself an optimist, I will always look at the positive especially for those around me. It’s just part of my nature to want those around me to be happy and whole. Yet I don’t apply the same level to myself.

Like most of us out there I start off the year on a high of motivation and positivity!

Anything is possible

Anything is possible if you can dream it.

But nothing is possible if you procrastinate (recovering procrastinator typing right here)

I’ve become my own worst enemy every time I procrastinate, I am working on changing that.

My goal overall for the year was to start studying again, I feel as if to gain direction in my career I need to arm myself with the right tools. And what better tool than higher education? I think paperwork gets the door open for you and experience and pure wit and drive lets you walk in.

I chose to live my life with that wit and drive and I was fortunate enough to be offered an opportunity to do a leadership program at work. Simultaneously I got the exceptions I needed to start another course.

The leadership program started at the beginning of March and this awful overwhelming feeling sank over me. Can I really do this? What on earth do they see in me? Do I have the time to do this all and look after my daughter and all the other commitments life has to offer?

With all of these questions hanging on my mind I opened my laptop and started the online courses. There truly is no better way to conquer fears that to engage in the thing that is making you fearful.

At the time of writing this i was 3 videos into the course and writing notes to help me absorb and I heard my daughter wake up and ask for me… Mamma mamma, the words you wait for your child to say until you realise it rips you into pieces when you don’t respond. My husband is more than capable of taking care of her and he did.

I carried on….

After 3 topics I called it a day and came to chat to my husband, expressing my fear at not being able to do the task at hand. He looked at me as if I was crazy and responded of course you can do it! I tapped his shoulder again, he removes his earphones and I say but it’s harder than I thought. He responds with well it’s just getting you ready for all the other studying you want to do.

It was a light bulb moment.

Every event, every action in our life prepares us for what comes next

What is happening in your life now that is preparing you for the next phase in your life?

Have a look around, live in that moment and dare to dream for what comes next!

plans

PS: I completed the first module of the course and loved it! Time management with a family is still a real thing, but everyday i just Try. Some days i get it right and other days it goes so wrong… but that’s life in a nutshell

Leave a comment